TRASHED


Green Screen Environmental Series
Special support provided by the Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences
Tuesday, March 12, 2013 - 7:30pm
Location: 
Hokin Hall @ Columbia College Chicago - 623 S. Wabash Ave.

CHICAGO PREMIERE

 
Admission: $8   Purchase advance Tickets - click here!

 

Trashed, the Cannes Film Festival hit starring Jeremy Irons, looks at the risks to the food chain and the environment through pollution of our air, land and sea by waste and garbage. Revealing surprising truths about very immediate and potent dangers to our health, this film launches a global conversation from Iceland to Indonesia between scientists, politicians and ordinary individuals whose health and livelihoods have been fundamentally affected by waste pollution. Trashed is at once visually and emotionally horrific and beautiful: an interplay of a human interest and political wake-up call. Yet from the depths of the dumps erupts a message of hope, showing how the risks to our survival can easily be averted through sustainable approaches that provide far more employment than the current “waste industry.” (Directed by Candida Brady. UK, 2011, 98 min)
 
Screenings at Hokin Hall are supported in part by grants from the National Endowment for the Arts and the Illinois Arts Council, a state agency. Chicago Filmmakers' programs are also supported by The MacArthur Fund at the Richard H. Driehaus Foundation and The Gaylord and Dorothy Donnelley Foundation.
 
See video

Join Our List

Email:

Follow Us

 

Upcoming Shows

Fri, 09/26/2014 - 8:00pm
-
Sat, 09/27/2014 - 8:00pm
-
Wed, 10/01/2014 - 6:30pm
-
Wed, 10/08/2014 - 7:00pm
-
Sat, 10/11/2014 - 8:00pm
-
Wed, 10/15/2014 - 6:30pm
-
Sat, 10/18/2014 - 8:00pm
-
Sat, 10/25/2014 - 8:00pm
-
Wed, 10/29/2014 - 6:30pm
-
Sat, 11/01/2014 - 8:00pm
-

Support Us