Coast Modern


Chicago Premiere
REdesign Series
Monday, May 27, 2013 - 7:30pm
Location: 
Studio Be- 3110 N. Sheffield Avenue

 Admission: $8

Travelling along the Pacific North West coastline from LA to Vancouver, Coast Modern showcases the pioneers of West Coast Modernist Architecture and the homes that have become their legacies.  Stepping inside the most inspired dwellings on the west coast, we investigate first hand how the transformative modern architects have chosen to work in collaboration with nature, redesigning conceptions of living in accordance with nature. New use of light, space and the natural environment evoke the mantra that the way to live is to have 'the comfort of being inside, yet you have the feeling of being outside.”  This relaxed journey takes us across three generations of Modernist architecture, all finding beauty in their own times, and all taking us back to the basics of true living – a sense of place, light, and a deep connection to the earth. Interviewed in Coast Modern are some of the most respected names in architecture, including James Steele, Barbara Lamprecht, Ray Kappe, Hernik Bull, Pierluigi Serraino, Michael Folonis, Dion Neutra, Douglas Coupland, John Cava, Barbara Bestor and legendary photographer Julius Shulman.

 Directed by Mike Bernard and Gavin Froome. USA, 2012, 56 min

 

Studio-be.org // BYOB venue // Adjacent to Belmont Red/Brown Line Stop 

 

Join Our List

Email:

Upcoming Classes

May 1 – May 29 | Thursdays, 6:30pm – 9:30pm
 
 

May 17 | Saturday, 10am – 4pm

May 20 - June 17 | Tuesdays, 6:30pm - 9:30pm

May 24 | Saturday, 10am - 4pm

May 24 | Saturday, 10am - 4pm

May 24 | Saturday, 10am - 4pm

May 24 | Saturday, 10am - 4pm

May 24 | Saturday, 10am - 4pm

 May 28 - June 25 | Wednesday, 6:30pm - 9:30pm

10 weeks: May 29 – July 31 | Thursdays, 6:30pm – 9:30pm

Follow Us

 

Upcoming Shows

Fri, 04/25/2014 - 8:00pm
-
Sat, 04/26/2014 - 8:00pm
-
Wed, 04/30/2014 - 6:30pm
-
Sat, 05/03/2014 - 8:00pm
-
Wed, 05/07/2014 - 6:30pm
-
Sat, 05/10/2014 - 8:00pm
-
Wed, 05/14/2014 - 6:30pm
-
Fri, 05/16/2014 - 8:00pm
-
Sat, 05/17/2014 - 8:00pm
-
Wed, 05/21/2014 - 6:30pm
-

Support Us